Free delivery (UK) on all orders until 31 August 2022
‘Friends. Here is a principle. If you want your suffering to end, you have to act. Action comes from hope. This is the principle of faith and action.’

Tsitsi Dangarembga
Before her arrest on 31 July 2020

On 31 July, President Mnangagwa deployed heavily armed soldiers and police onto the streets of the Zimbabwean capital city, Harare, where hundreds of activists and opposition leaders were set to stage a peaceful protest against the ongoing economic crisis and human rights abuses in the country. Tsitsi Dangarembga was one of those protestors. She was peacefully protesting with one other person against the current Zimbabwean government.

As she faces trial, we at Faber & Faber stand with Tsitsi Dangarembga to demand her acquittal and we urge others to support her cause. By joining together and raising our voices, let the power of our collective call effect change.

Stephen Page, CEO
On behalf of Faber & Faber
Every moment is a moment for potential resolution. It just needs somebody to say, in that moment, OK, we’re going to do things differently – and mean it.
Tsitsi Dangarembga
Supported by:
Alan Trotter
Alison White
Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor, Sunday Times
Andrew Motion
Andrew O’Hagan
Ann Jungman
Anna Burns
Arthur Robins
Atlantic Books
Barbara Kingsolver
Barney Norris
Benjamin Markovits
Bev Thomas
Bryony Lavery
Carol Ann Duffy
Chloe Daykin
Chris Power
Christopher Hampton
Christopher Reid
Claire Adam
Claire Armitstead, Associate Editor, Culture, Guardian
Claire Keegan
Clare Wigfall
Clive Wilmer
Daunt Books
David Hare
David Lan CBE
DBC Pierre
Don Paterson
Edna O’Brien
Eimear McBride
Ella Okstad
Emily Berry
Europa Editions
Fintan O’Toole
Francesca Wade
Francis Spufford
Gaby Wood, Literary Director, Booker Prize Foundation
Georgina Godwin
Granta Books
Hanif Kureishi
Harry Heape
Hermione Lee
Hilary Leichter
Ian Bostridge
Ian Leslie
Icon Books
Ingrid Persaud
Jackie Kay
Jacqueline Rose
James Catchpole
James Shapiro
Jamie McKendrick
Jennifer Clement, President, PEN International
Jenny Uglow
John Donnelly
John Haffenden FBA FRSL
Julia Copus FRSL
Julianne Pachico
Katherine Rundell
Kazuo Ishiguro
Kieran Larwood
Lachlan Mackinnon
Lavinia Greenlaw
Lizzie Nunnery
Lou Kuenzler
Louisa Joyner, Associate Publisher, Faber
Louise Doughty
Lucy Caldwell
Luke Harding
Margaret Drabble
Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick
Marina Carr
Mario Vargas Llosa
Mark Ford
Martin McDonagh
Maureen Freely, Chair, English PEN
Maurice Riordan
Michael Frayn
Miriam Battye
Nadeem Aslam
Natasha Farrant
Nathan Filer
Neal Layton
Nick Laird
Nicola Upson
Oliver Craske
Oneworld Publications
Owen Sheers
Philip Watson
Philippe Sands, President, English PEN
Profile Books
Pushkin Press
Rebecca Watson
Richard ‘Huck’ Scarry
Richard Scott
Richard T. Kelly
Sarah Hall
Scribe Publications
Sebastian Barry
Simon Hall
Sue Prideaux
Susie Nicklin
Swapna Haddow
Timberlake Wertenbaker FRSL
Toby Faber
Toby Martinez de las Rivas
Tom Stoppard
Tony White
Una Mannion
Wendy Cope
Zaffar Kunial
Zinnie Harris
About the author
About the author