Free delivery (UK) on all orders until 31 August 2022

Faber and Andlyn announce 2020 FAB Prize alongside new website



Faber Children’s is now accepting submissions for the Faber and Andlyn BAME (FAB) Prize for
undiscovered BAME writers and illustrators.
The FAB Prize, now in its fourth year, aims to discover and showcase new talent, closing the gap
between what is currently published and the reality for many families. Previous awards have led to
numerous writers and illustrators finding representation and publishing deals.
The FAB Prize is proud to be supported by BookTrust and the AOI who both offer opportunities to
our FAB Prize entrants. This year, the prize launches with a brand-new website to further support
participants and showcase the successes of previous FAB Prize winners and alumni.
Leah Thaxton, Publisher says:
‘Judging this prize every year has been such a privilege. We’ve been
amazed by the talent we’ve found so far and can’t wait to see who else is out there. Now this year,
we’re delighted to be launching the FAB prize alongside a brand-new website. We hope that this will
allow the prize to reach an even wider audience, unearth more incredible new talent and set them
up on a career in publishing.’
Davinia Andrew-Lynch, Founder of Andlyn Literary Agency says:
‘It’s been a genuine joy watching how the prize has developed each year, and seeing how some of our
unearthed talent has gone on to forge a career in the industry. Working with Leah and the rest of the
Faber Children’s team has been a pleasure, and to say that we are now going into a fourth year, gives
me such a thrill. I cannot wait to see who we discover next!’
Aspiring authors and illustrators can now send in text or illustrations. The entries will be judged by
Faber & Faber’s Publisher Leah Thaxton, Andlyn Literary Agent Davinia Andrew-Lynch, Faber
Creative Director Donna Payne and Faber Children’s Art Director Emma Eldridge.
The full entry criteria is available on the prize website. The competition closes for entries
on Saturday 4th April. Shortlisted authors and illustrators will be contacted directly, and the winners
will be revealed at an awards ceremony on Wednesday 16th September.
If you have any queries about criteria, please email