Free delivery (UK) on all orders until 31 August 2022

Helen Oyeyemi moves to Faber for Peaces

By Faber Editor, 1 October 2020

Louisa Joyner, Associate Publisher, acquired UK and Commonwealth (excl. Canada) and audio rights for Peaces by international bestselling, prizewinning novelist Helen Oyeyemi from Tracy Bohan at the Wylie Agency.

The novel is scheduled for publication on 4 November 2021, with an export edition to be released on 1 April 2021.

Peaces is the story of Otto and Xavier Shin, a couple who embark from Kent on a mysterious train that takes them far beyond any destination they could have anticipated. As the carriages roll along they become embroiled in intrigue – who is Ava Kapoor, the sole full-time inhabitant of the train, and what is her relationship to a man named Prem? Are they passengers or prisoners? We discover who orchestrated the journey, hurtling them all into their past for clues.

Helen Oyeyemi said: ‘Faber is such a significant source of the compellingly contemporary. It’s both a delight and a truly meaningful encouragement for my writing to be published alongside works that are so important to my life as a reader.’

Louisa Joyner said: ‘This is Helen Oyeyemi’s first novel with Faber and it is our joy and honour to be publishing this brilliant, wise, strange and, above all, beautiful novel and welcoming its famously talented author to our list.’

Helen Oyeyemi is the author of The Icarus Girl; The Opposite HouseWhite Is for Witching, which won the Somerset Maugham Award; Mr FoxBoy, Snow, BirdGingerbread; and the short-story collection What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours. In 2013, Helen was included in Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists.

Buy the Book
Helen Oyeyemi

‘A writer of sentences so elegant that they gleam.’ – Ali Smith
The hugely anticipated new novel from the beloved author