Free delivery (UK) on all orders until 31 August 2022

Kristin Scott Thomas to narrate Rachel Cusk’s Outline trilogy

The first of the recordings, Outline, will be released on 29 October 2020, followed by Transit in February 2021 and Kudos in early 2023.

Kristin Scott Thomas is a long-standing admirer of Rachel Cusk’s novels and is perfect casting for the voice of Faye, the protagonist of the iconic trilogy.

Kristin Scott Thomas said:

Faber heard that I was a Rachel Cusk fan so I was thrilled when they asked me to record her recent novels. I have been practising for years, reading them aloud to myself, hoping that one day somebody would ask me to record them. It has been such a pleasure. Rachel Cusk has a relentless and humorous eye for the truth in relationships, and describes them brilliantly.

‘Cusk is intimately concerned with the architecture of women’s lives, the institutions and expectations – marriage, motherhood, loyalty – that continue to shape everyday experiences . . . [These three books] stand as a landmark in 21st-century English literature, the culmination of an artist’s unshakable efforts to forge her own path.’ Observer

‘[Cusk] has that ability, unique to great performers in every art form, to hold one rapt from the moment she appears . . . These books strike me as a stark, modern, adamantine new skyscraper on the literary horizon’ New York Times

Dame Kristin Scott Thomas is the recipient of a BAFTA Award, four Evening Standard British Film Awards, two London Critics’ Circle Film Awards, and a Screen Actors Guild Award for her film work, cementing her place in cinema history.

A bilingual actress equally at home playing French and English-language roles, she received Academy Award and Golden Globe Award nominations for her starring role opposite Ralph Fiennes in Anthony Minghella’s Best Picture Academy Award-winning The English Patient.

Photo credit: Jon Compson
Buy the Book
Rachel Cusk

Rachel Cusk’s extraordinary trilogy is being released, for the first time, as one set in this beautifully produced Members exclusive collection.