Free delivery (UK) on all orders until 31 August 2022

The Faber Poetry Podcast (series 2, episode 1): Joe Dunthorne & Will Harris

Woo hoo we’re back! In the first episode of the new series, Rachael and Jack discuss typewriters, ‘poety’ backpacks, ruffles and codpieces (and much more) with their studio guests Joe Dunthrone and Will Harris and feature audio postcards sent to them by Simon Armitage, Heather Christle and Isabel Galleymore. 


Listen to this episode and please like and subscribe to the podcast so you don’t miss forthcoming episodes from the new season.

Show notes

Studio guests


JOE DUNTHORNE’S debut collection O Positive was published by Faber in 2019. His first novel, Submarine, was translated into sixteen languages and adapted for film by Richard Ayoade. His second, Wild Abandon, won the 2012 Encore Award. His latest is The Adulterants. His short stories and poems have been published in Paris Review, London Review of Books and McSweeney’s.



WILL HARRIS is the author of the essay Mixed-Race Superman and the poetry collection RENDANG, forthcoming from Granta in February 2020. @soshunetwork











Audio postcards

‘Untitled’ written and read by Simon Armitage.
Simon Armitage’s latest book of poems Sandettie Light Vessel Automatic (2019) is published by Faber & Faber.

‘That air of ruthlessness in Spring’ written and read by Heather Christle.
Heather Christle’s The Crying Book will be published on 5 November 2019 by Catapult (and published in the UK from Corsair in February 2020).

‘Spirit Human’ written and read by Isabel Galleymore.
Isabel Galleymore’s debut collection Significant Other is shortlisted for the 2019 Forward (Felix Dennis) Poetry Prize for Best First Collection and is published by Carcanet.


About the presenters

Rachael AllenRACHAEL ALLEN is the poetry editor at Granta, co-editor at the poetry press Clinic and of online journal tender. A pamphlet of her poems was published as part of the Faber New Poets scheme, and her first collection, Kingdomland, was published by Faber in January 2019. She is the recipient of an Eric Gregory award and New Writing North’s Andrew Waterhouse award. @r_vallen 


JACK UNDERWOOD is a poet, who also writes short fiction and non-fiction. A recipient of the Eric Gregory Award in 2007, he published his debut pamphlet in 2009 as part of the Faber New Poets series. His first collection Happiness was published by Faber in 2015 and was winner of the 2016 Somerset Maugham prize. He is a lecturer in creative writing at Goldsmiths College and is currently writing a non-fiction book about poetry and uncertainty. Two pamphlets, Solo for Mascha Voice and Tenuous Rooms were published by Test Centre in 2018. @underwood_jack 



The Faber Poetry Podcast is produced by Rachael Allen, Jack Underwood and Hannah Marshall for Faber & Faber. Editing by Billy Godfrey at Strathmore Publishing. Special thanks to Simon Armitage, Heather Christle, Joe Dunthorne, Isabel Galleymore and Will Harris.

Catch up on our previous episodes here or wherever you listen to your favourite podcasts. If you like our show you can subscribe on iTunes so you don’t miss forthcoming episodes in our first six-part series and please rate and review us, if you feel inclined to do so, we’re very grateful for the support of all our listeners – thank you!